Saturday Links 2/26/11

On Saturdays from now on I’ll be posting my favorite articles of the week from other bloggers for your reading enjoyment.

I tried to think of a clever name for this series and all I could come up with was “Hitting the links this weekend”. I actually liked myself as a person a little bit less for even thinking that, so I’m just going to leave it as it is. Enjoy!

Lenore Skenazy of Free Range Kids discusses the idiocy of modern toy marketing.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary shares her kid’s awesome (and off-topic) artwork.

Donald Miller talks about the difference between consumers, critics and creators.

A contributor to the Bookshop Blog does some small work in assuaging my fears about running a bookstore just as e-readers are taking off.

She just rocks. Rachel Held Evans hits the nail on the head once again with her list of 13 things that make her a lousy progressive.

Sometimes the truth hurts. I will never understand the reasoning behind anti-vaccine pushes.

Elora Nicole is attending The Idea Camp conference on adoption and orphan care this week and has posted her notes from the early sessions: part 1, part 2, part 3, part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11. Yes, it’s a lot of reading, and you’ll want to digest it slowly, but these notes from the speakers are firing me up to do more. This is a conference we might be checking out in the future.

This entry was posted in Saturday Links. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday Links 2/26/11

  1. mama says:

    I read the blog from the bookshop owner with interest. I also would love to visit that shop! But a tnought came to me this morning as I was reading my B&N email filled with Nook offerings. Most of them on sale are $9.99-$14.99 when it hit me. What if I don’t like that book? I’m out $10+ and no way to recoop my losses. As far as I know, they don’t give refunds, you can’t resell them…you’re just plain stuck and out some $$$.
    With a real book if you don’t like it, you can always sell it to a used bookstore or trade it in for something that you do like. Offer it on Ebay, resale shop or garage sale.Or donate it away to Goodwill thus keeping it from being a total waste.

    There’s just something about turning the worn pages of a much loved book that cannot be matched to a click on an electronic device. How does one curl up in a comfy chair with a Nook or Kindle?

Leave a Reply

